Useful Information and Helpful "Tips"
For Celiac Individuals Visiting Israel
Shalom and Welcome to Israel!
We are glad that you are visiting our beautiful country. Below is basic general information that we hope will help you during your stay in Israel.
Products that contain gluten must say so on the label, however there is no legal obligation to write anything about cross contamination.
Almost all products are labeled both in Hebrew and in English
Please note there is no official gluten-free logo, so you cannot rely on such a logo.
"Regular" supermarkets do not generally carry gluten free products such as pasta or bread. There are many "regular" products that are gluten free but they will not be labelled gluten free. In the supermarkets there is a large assortment of fresh fruit, vegetables and dairy products. If a product contains gluten it will usually say so clearly on the label.
We do not have a list in English of regular products sold at the supermarkets that are gluten free. We do have a Hebrew Gluten Free Guide that costs NIS120.
You can buy GF products such as pasta, frozen breads, rolls, cereal, etc. in health-food stores, usually called a "Beit Teva", which can be found in many neighborhoods. There is an English list of health-food stores on our website.
There is also an online gluten free shop that has a complete English site - www.glutenfree.co.il. They will deliver any place in the country.
You can download a card for restaurants explaining in Hebrew about Celiac and gluten free food preparation from our website.
You can also consult our site for a list of restaurants that provide gluten free meals.
Hotels do not necessarily provide gluten free food. It is best to contact the hotel directly and see what they will provide.
The traditional Israeli hotel breakfast consists of lots of cheeses and vegetables as well as eggs - there are many GF options but usually no GF-bread or crackers alternatives. It might be best to bring those from home (although you will have to check if you are allowed to bring food into the hotel dining room due to the requirement of kosher food).
The official language in Israel is Hebrew, yet most people speak English as well.
It is possible to bring food into Israel. We recommend you bring basic gluten free products, such as bread or crackers, at least for your first days in Israel.
Donít hesitate to send us an e-mail if you have more questions or to call the Association at: 03-6781481 when you arrive. Our "Gluten Free Hotline" operates Sunday-Thursday 9:00-11:00 and 15:00-19:00, and Friday 9:00-11:00.
We hope this information will be helpful. Have a wonderful time in Israel!